Home > PR 2.0 > How Would you Plan for the Media Feeding Frenzy the Morning After Strausburg?

How Would you Plan for the Media Feeding Frenzy the Morning After Strausburg?

June 9, 2010

REPOSTED: Strasburg: The Morning After, Posted on June 9, 2010 by Phil Raintree  

No, I’m not relaying the story of some floozy who had a wild ladies night at Nationals Park. I’m talking about the biggest sporting event in Washington, DC proper since November 3, 2001, when Michael Jordan played his first home game for the Wizards.  Last night, one Stephen James Strasburg started his first major league baseball game and it was epic.  

I was lucky enough to get seats along the right field line, and let me tell you something ESPN has already said 874 times by now —  Strasburg looks legit. I’m not a baseball scout and haven’t followed baseball that closely since the Orioles went wire to wire in 1997, but from what I could see in section 231, Strasburg has zip on the ball, a nasty curve, and a cool demeanor.

There was a buzz in the Stadium.  The buzz turned into louder buzzing as the game went on.  By the 6th inning the buzzing noises turned into audible “Steph-en Stras-burg” chants. The hype was well deserved.

Just compare Strasburg’s first start (7 IP, 2 ER, 4 H, 14 K, 0 BB) to other hyped up pitchers in their first starts:  Todd Van Poppel (4.2 IP, 5 ER, 7 H, 6K, 2BB); Tim Lincecum (4.1 IP, 5 ER, 5 H, 5 K, 5 BB); and Brian Matusz (5.0 IP, 1 ER, 6 H, 5 K, 3 BB).  I know, good, right?  So what else could DC sports fans ask for from Strasburg?  Only one thing in my opinion –a nickname.

So what are some nickname possibilities?  

Here’s what I’ve got so far: [Fast Burgers, Babe Burg, Burger’s Ball Burners] <alice fisher>

Other Standard Nicknames

  • K-burg
  • Stevie K
  • Stevie Strikeout
  • Big Stras
  • Super Stras
  • Strastastic
  • Nationals Treasure (if this gets Nic Cage involved more with the team I’m all for it)

I never got to my question in the title but that’s ok.  There is always tomorrow, or the next day, thankfully I am not the PR manager of the Nationals right now, but gads it’s got to busy in their press office these days! So, will they get the 17 year old next year?  I am wondering who is prepping him for his future media frenzy in advance of his professional debut? 

Are there any veteran ball players out there that can “step to the plate”  and mentor the ushering in of this new generations of kids?

Tags:
